Why Should I Care About GTA IV?

Back about 2 months ago when Smash Bros. Brawl was about to be released I saw some complaints on a few message boards and comments sections about how much coverage the game was receiving. This made absolutely no sense to me, I mean it’s Smash Bros. a game I’ve been waiting years for and I was completely psyched about it. I even went as far as saying the people making the complaints were just being “fanboys” and should just shut-up; Well now I feel terrible for that because I finally understand what these gamers were going through. Why the sudden realization? I’ll tell you. I don’t care about Grand Theft Auto IV at all!

Now don’t get me wrong I’m not complaining about the game itself at all, to be perfectly honest I haven’t even played it yet — It’s not my place to pass judgment on a game I have never played. But what I can say is this, the GTA series has never been one that interested me. I love the Satire and the humor but the sandbox style gameplay was something I could never quite get into. And I understand why many gamers like that but “To each his own” I always say.

Well that’s that I don’t want to play GTA IV so I’ll just move on right? well if major gaming sites across the web have anything to do with it I won’t be forgetting GTA IV anytime soon.

Lets go to IGN for example. I swung by today to help myself think of a topic for the blog entry tonight so I went to see what was going on in the review section. Naturally since last night was a Wii night I wanted to go for something with a little more 360 flavor. I was then brought to a screen I thought was a terrible misprint, a heinous error in HTML code maybe? but what I was seeing was real… there were 4 listings for GTA IV reviews for the 360 and 4 more reviews for the PS3. Surely this was brought on by a moment of pure madness on the part of the IGN editors, one game getting 8 separate reviews spanning 3-7 pages long

The reviews were lavish, singing high praises, the game even managed a perfect 10 from IGN’s US and UK Bureaus. And quite frankly I wasn’t out to disagree with them, again I haven’t played it yet, but lets recap here; there is the IGN 360 review, the IGN 360 UK review, the IGN 360 Aussie review, the IGN 360 review of the special edition and that list repeats itself for the PS3 section of the site. Now I’m not trying to single out IGN, they are a respected website but is it just me or is that many reviews a bit much for one game, from one website? Now, I will admit that for the most part, the IGN 360 review and the IGN PS3 reviews aren’t all that different but even 4 reviews is bad enough.

So what’s the non-GTA IV enthusiast suppose to do? you would guess browse the news and feature sections of the site… but you would guess wrong. The features area was also filled with GTA IV, guides and special features took up most of the site’s real estate.

But I digress. I then realized I’m just doing the same thing the non-Smash Bros. enthusiast were doing, I was caught up in the waves of the storm that is a highly anticipated video game. I can’t expect gaming websites not to take advantage of an opportunity like GTA IV, it fills up space on the site and most people find it interesting. Just because I don’t really care doesn’t mean I should complain, I mean its not like I’m paying to look at the site right?

But for the time being it still is pretty lame, I just have to wait for it to pass I guess, maybe I’ll read my new issue of OXM…. oh wait

Images of IGN website © IGN entertainment

Official Xbox Magazine cover © Future Publishing

One Response to “Why Should I Care About GTA IV?”

  1. […] [Technorati] Tag results for xbox360 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWhy Should I Care About GTA IV? Posted in PS3, Xbox 360 with tags 360, GTA, PS3 on May 3, 2008 by gamewhisperer Back about 2 months ago when Smash Bros. Brawl was about to be released I saw some complaints on a few message boards and comments sections about how much coverage the game was receiving. This made absolutely no sense to me, I mean it’s Smash Bros. a game I’ve been waiting years for and I was completely psyched about it. I even went as far as saying the people making the complaints w […]

Leave a Reply

